Marah Chase and the Conqueror's Tomb 3D.jpg

Most Recent Title

Marah Chase and the Conqueror’s Tomb (Pegasus, 2019)

A love letter to Indiana Jones, Steven Spielberg, Ray Harryhausen, comic books, and Mission Impossible.

Rogue archeologist Marah Chase is approached by MI6 with an impossible mission: to help them recover a dangerous treasure lost after the death of Alexander the Great.

Once a rising star in the field of archaeology, Marah Chase is now a black-market treasure hunter, her services available to the highest bidder. But when she’s caught “rescuing” relics in Syria before they’re destroyed by war, an MI6 officer named Joanna Mason approaches her with an offer she can’t refuse: help save the world or rot in prison.

All Chase has to do is find Alexander the Great’s lost tomb, recover an ancient weapon of mass destruction he may have used to conquer the earth, and destroy it before the bad guys can get it. Among those adversaries are a powerful church that believes in a forgotten epoch of advanced alien technology, the white supremacist thugs in its employ, and the rival archaeologist who recently left Chase for dead.

Chase can’t resist a challenge―or the British spy recruiting her. There’s just one problem. If Chase has any hope of unearthing Alexander’s tomb before the forces hot on her heels do, she’ll need the help of the one person she’s been afraid to see since her fall from grace: Zoe Forrester, the heir to a hidden journal that holds the key―and Chase’s ex-girlfriend.

A contemporary homage to the best adventure stories of literature, television, and film, Marah Chase and the Conqueror’s Tomb is an action-packed, globe-trotting quest, perfect for anyone who’s ever thought Indy really ought to be Jewish, female, and gay.

Praise for Marah Chase

Stringer effortlessly weaves a complex web of espionage and betrayal around a rip-snorting, larger-than-life adventure in the spirit of Indiana Jones.
Antony Johnston, creator of 'Atomic Blonde' and 'The Exphoria Code'

Stringer, author of the Sam Ireland and Eoin Miller mysteries, has a winner here with Marah Chase―pulse-pounding adventure, in the best Indiana Jones tradition, with a charismatic gay woman fueling the action.”
Booklist (starred)

If you merged Ocean’s Eleven with Indiana Jones, you’d get Marah Chase and The Conqueror’s Tomb―a high-octane, pulse-pounding race to save the world from an ancient weapon.
Julie McElwain, author of the Kendra Donovan Mystery Series

The Miller Trilogy

A series of mystery novels set in the Black County, in England. Eoin Miller is a Romani detective who lives somewhere between right and wrong. He might not be the most reliable of narrators, but he’s got some great lines. The books explore social issues, and have been described as “Peaky Blinders in the modern day.“ 

-Old Gold (2012, Thomas & Mercer)

-Runaway Town (2013, Thomas & Mercer)

-Lost City (2014, Thomas & Mercer)

The Sam Ireland Mysteries

Jay moved his writing to Glasgow and found the voice and humour of the Dear Mean Place to be a perfect fit. The books mark a turn to a more comedic style for Jay’s writing. Sam Ireland is a young, initially reluctant PI. She only took over the family business when her dad fell ill. So far, Sam has managed to get in over her head in two punk rock crime comedies. Will there be more?

-Ways To Die In Glasgow (2015, Thomas & Mercer)

-How To Kill Friends And Implicate People (2016, Thomas & Mercer)